Shodor

a national resource for computational science education

HOME BWSIP Shodor Blue Waters

Day 01 - Orientation

Monday, May 29, 2017

  • Introduction to the Petascale Institute
  • Introduction to C

Day 02 - Introduction to Blue Waters

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

  • Blue Waters System Overview
  • Introduction to Parallelism
  • File Transfer
  • Blue Waters Machine Room Tour
  • Submitting Jobs and Running Programs
  • Time to Science

Day 03 - Shared Memory and OpenMP

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

  • Shared Memory
  • OpenMP

Day 04 - Distributed Memory and MPI

Thursday, June 1, 2017

  • Distributed Memory
  • MPI

Day 05 - Hybrid Shared+Distributed Memory

Friday, June 2, 2017

  • Hybrid OpenMP+MPI

Day 06 - General-Purpose Graphics Processing Units (GPGPUs)

Monday, June 5, 2017

  • GPGPUs
  • OpenACC
  • CUDA

Day 07 - Scientific Libraries and Visualization

Tuesday, June 6, 2017

  • Scientific Libraries
  • Python
  • Visualization
  • Augmented and Virtual Reality

Day 08 - Performance and Productivity Tools

Wednesday, June 7, 2017

  • BASH Scripting
  • Performance Tools
  • Optimization
  • Debugging
  • Version Control
  • BCCD and LittleFe

Day 09 - Project Work

Thursday, June 8, 2017

  • Project Work

Day 10 - Project Presentations

Friday, June 9, 2017

  • Project Presentations

Other Resources